top of page

December Artist Spotlight: Toni Taylor



Poet Wilfred Alfred once said that "beauty is that which pleases without interest". This quote could hardly be more appropriate than being used as a statement about TNE's December spotlight featured visionary artist Toni Taylor. The beauty of her art transcends any predisposition to visionary art. Born in New York, this eclectic artist has always had an eye for the mystical. Toni Taylor is an artist whose work travels through the visionary realms of fantasy! Her work indicates a special kinship with the mysteries of Ancient Egypt as well as the spirit of indigenous nations. Goddess imagery is represented powerfully in her collection and as a lover of all things celestial, the beauty and limitlessness of the cosmos often finds its way into her paintings. Toni’s creative history includes fine art, illustration, portraiture, wire sculptures, murals and scenic painting. She says of her work, "When people view my creations, I want them to feel like they’re taking a step beyond perceived reality while tapping into the ethereal and otherworldly". Having had no formal training, Toni considers herself ‘life taught’ and her gift a blessing from the Divine Creator. Her work speaks to that which cannot be summed up in words alone.

Taylor's professional career began in 1985 with a cover for Heavy Metal Magazine, a division of National Lampoon, of which she says she was an avid collector. Since then Toni has worked with various clients such as Disney, Universal Studios, Creative Kingdoms, Miller Brewing Company, Marvel Comics, Black Enterprise Magazine, MBI ~ Easton Press, Inner Traditions ~ Destiny Books, American Kennel Club, U.S. Games, PolyGram, GRP, RCA, EMI and Island Records. She has exhibited her work in galleries, conventions and festivals from Boston to Dallas and is published in prints and greeting cards. Toni especially enjoys catering to private collectors as well as teaching creative workshops. TNE cornered the elusive artist at Atlanta's Paper Plane Gallery where she currently has a solo exhibition on display. Surrounded by a full spread of her clever paintings, we sat for tea.

rEN: So I hear you are a real tea connoisseur. Which is your favorite and why?

[sips tea]

Toni Taylor: As I sit here with a cup of peppermint, I honestly have to say I have a hard time choosing a favorite.. I enjoy all herbals… ginger, jasmine and orange spice just to name a few. Occasionally I’ll combine them to make new infusions. There are times when I need a little boost to get me through a long night of painting and since I’m not much of a coffee drinker, I’ll brew up some lemon ginseng green tea or chai with cashew milk. Sometimes the simplicity of hot lemon and honey is both satisfying and healing.

rEN: If you could change one thing about society with the wave of a wand, what would you change?

Toni Taylor: Just one?? I can give you a list, you can take your pick! Eliminate prejudice of all kinds, the corruption and hidden agendas rife within governments, taxation (which is actually illegal), the need for military, outlaw war, re-work the pharmaceutical industry to focus on wellness and not be the biggest drug pushers on the planet capitalizing on and sometimes creating more illness, teach the truth of our history and how to better navigate real life in schools, stop denying the existence of aliens and their extensive influence on our planet… Don’t get me started, I could go on, lol!

rEN: Yeah, I suppose that is a loaded question. Your work seems like a healthy combination between play and careful meticulous execution. Is there an element of art you enjoy working with most? Why?

Toni Taylor: I enjoy conceptualizing the most. Sometimes I wish I could magically shoot the image directly from my brain onto the canvas as something is inevitably lost in translation from my original vision. Sometimes ‘happy accidents’ do happen which can add some fun to the creative adventure. I also enjoy the third phase of creating a painting… after the drawing and under painting are done, I like bringing the piece to life when I go over it again tweaking everything.. for me that’s the best part of the painting when it all comes together. Another element I really enjoy is when I’m twisting copper wire for a sculpt. I create trees, staffs and nature spirits with the wire… it’s very therapeutic!

rEN: So you use art as a sort of therapy - deep. If we could peep into your creative space, what is the one thing in your studio we would not expect?

Toni Taylor: I’m not sure there’s anything ‘unexpected’ in my studio. I tend to believe most artists surround themselves with their materials and whatever hardware needed to get their work done…Surrounding me are bookcases, flat files, file cabinets, pc, printers, paints, brushes, easels, craft materials, dream catchers, artwork, family photos and mementos from friends.. I like to keep my loved ones nearby. Oh.. maybe I should add that a few ladybugs (for good luck?) have been hanging out with me the past few days, that certainly wasn’t expected!

rEN: Every now and then I get the occasional random spider - I can dig it. Your work comes across to me as well researched. Do you have any kind of creative patterns, routines, or rituals?

Toni Taylor: While I have been known to sage my materials before beginning a new piece, that’s not always the case. Normally I just get a cup of tea, put on some music or pop in a movie I know to listen to then get to it.

rEN: How do you know when a work is finished?

Toni Taylor: Occasionally ‘time’ is what dictates when a work is finished if it’s due for a show or a client in order to keep a schedule. It’s not always easy to judge. Once I complete a piece, I often go back to tweak it after living with it a minute. Sometimes I have to walk away for a while then see it with fresh eyes so I can make it that much better.

rEN: Who are some of your biggest influences dead or alive?

Toni Taylor: There are several artists who have influenced me in some way. For the deceased ones: Da Vinci (all around brilliant), Erte, Maxfield Parrish, Rembrandt, NC Wyeth, Michelangelo Buonarrati, Frank Frazetta.. Alive: Boris Vallejo, Julie Bell, Michael Whelan, Amanda Sage, David Heskin, Donato Giancola, Thomas Blackshear… truly the list goes on!

rEN: Nice list. Just to play devils advocate, if you had to totally erase one artist's work from humanities history to save the honey bees, which artist would you select?

Toni Taylor: While I feel it would be unfair to eliminate any artist’s work, one who comes to mind is Keith Haring, part of the Andy Warhol crew known mostly for his iconic pop art. Personally his work didn’t move me.

rEN: There are not a lot of Sistas featured at DragonCon, I understand your work was really well received - what was that like? Do you have any advice for other sistas who might want to explore that genre, but feel intimidated by such a white male dominated field of interest?

Toni Taylor: It was great! Unfortunately there are not many artists of color, men or women, who promote their work at DragonCon comparatively speaking. I was in the Art Show room where work had to be juried to be accepted vs buy a table in the vending areas. While there were a few Asian women and perhaps 1 or 2 Hispanic represented, there were no other women who looked like me. Most of the audience greeted me warmly, some actually thanking me for bringing more diversity to the venue while there were others who wouldn’t even look me in the eye.. and that includes some ‘sisters’! Though the melanin is strong, my personal ancestry is diverse.. it encompasses African, Native American, Irish, Chinese and Panamanian so I don’t tend to walk with color ‘on my sleeve’ so to speak. In any venue I choose to be an Artist amidst Artists and one who has something to bring to the table. Yes, the industry is dominated by white men but I feel there’s more than enough room for any artist worth their salt to stand up, represent with their various influences and background to speak with their own artistic voice. Let intimidation leave the room, follow your spirit, do what you do best and the work will shine on its own merit!

rEN: Well said. I will just add that we are all African at the end of the day. We will get you out of here on this one. If you could be any superhero, who would it be?

Toni Taylor: Hmmm... I don’t think it would be any known superhero… maybe an Earth Goddess in league with Gaia… one who has powers to heal, reveal truths and show the world there’s a better way to living peacefully, abundantly and lovingly.

rEN: Doesn't get much better than that... Thanks for the tea Toni


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page