top of page

Live Music: Soul Spot LA Co Founder



There are many platforms in L.A. where upcoming artists can go to perform. One of my new favorites is the Soul Spot LA. When I was invited to Soul Spot LA to do the red carpet, I was taken back. I never heard of this place where you can hear people sang not just sing! Who was behind all of this? I got a chance to sit down and interview the co-founder, Jeremy Erwin. I was so intrigued by his journey and creation of the Soul Spot L.A. that his story inspired me.

I must admit as this debonair tall gentleman walked into TNE magazine headquarters never could I prepare for what I would be hearing about the man, the magic and the creator of the Soul Spot LA. When Jeremy first moved to L.A., he wondered where a cool place one could go once they move to L.A. to pursue singing would be? Jeremy was going to lounges, bars, and theatres but was yearning for more. Jeremy knew in his artistic heart he wanted to see more than just a show, jam session or an open mic. In the ExumMusic Podcast, Jeremy said he wanted audiences to have an experience, and with Soul Spot L.A. you will have a soulful experience; which leads me to why and how he started Soul Spot LA. He joined his best friend Ombrey DeGrate in the Summer of 2015 after searching all over L.A. and never being able to find what he was looking for to create what we know today as Soul Spot LA. Together, they produced award show quality performances with a venue that would be full of high energy from some of the best-kept secret magical voices in the industry. They were able to collaborate with the best live bands in Hollywood blasting out the best Soul/RnB music.

I have to say my first experience at the Soul Spot LA. blew my mind and I was so intrigued to know more about the man behind this magic. As we continue to discuss Jeremy’s journey he opens up about the mental aspect of being in this business and how it can affect oneself. His aspirations don’t stop at creating what is now the Soul Spot LA. You have to tune into ExumMusic podcast to get the depth of his ambitions. I don’t want to spoil it for you.

Jeremy’s testimony, I believe, can shed some light on what and how it is to come to L.A. with dreams and how one can overcome them by hearing someone else’s truth. I really appreciated him opening up the way he did, and I ’m pretty sure it will help someone else who hears it. He is paying it forward with his musical platform. I gathered from our interview; he wants the best musicians and talented singers under in one venue to shake up our souls.

This interview definitely shook up my soul. Do not fret, because Soul Spot LA is not just a venue for famous bands or artists. They strive to give a platform for all musicians who are known and unknown. Some of the bands and background singers have performed for famous artists, but at the Soul Spot, their talents shine for the night. All you have to do is grab a mic, and the vibe is already there in the venue. Words cannot express the vibe in the place. One has to come and experience it for themselves. You can see the joy this platform brings to Jeremy when he discusses his company. So many artists and musicians have been discovered at their events.

The Soul Spot LA experience is beyond what you can imagine. It is more than just musicians and bands on a stage giving you music magic. They take you to a place where artists can connect with the core of the LA music industry. I suggest you go check it out the next one this month on March 7th if you can. Your soul will forever be grateful and yearning for more. But without farther ado click the link below to enjoy my sit down interview with Jeremy.


Watch the Interview with Jeremy Now:

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page