top of page

K. Russell’s Summer 16 Radio Reviews



Summer Music Reviews

Rating 6.5

Purely based on the fact I don't think I can listen to this album over and over again.

Beyoncé Album: Lemonade


Beyhive let me preface this review that this album was not for me. Now just to make sure I had a full depiction of this album I also watched the HBO special after listening to it. I came to the conclusion that if you heard this album was about her husband you heard wrong. The album seemed more like a raw personal transformation through the processes of alchemy. The HBO special was kind of dark with a demonic undertone and occult symbolism that gets darker and darker as it continues. I was watching like am I the only one that sees this looks less like modern art and more like an ascension into darkness. Maybe I was reading too much into it. I generally really like Beyoncé’s music. Controversy aside the production of this album is breaking barriers of every genre. Between pop, hip-hop, R&B, rock and even a little country, breaks the mold of how you can define an album. I found myself feeling like I'm listening to an hour long song and I lost interest. However, I could see how this would probably make a great concert for her die hard fans. Again this album is not for me. Top songs: Hold up and Formation, are the only tracks I found myself enjoying, but when I say I enjoyed them, oh my goodness, they get you moving! And the juxtaposition of an up-tempo song and negative almost depressive tone of the lyrics mixed well when you want to get a message across a club platform.


Rating 7.5

Drake’s Album: Views


Drake is one of my favorite artists, and I have to be critical of him. This album feels so conservative and underwhelming. I have been anticipating this album for over a year, like am I the only one thinking he took the tracks that didn't make "take care" and just placed them Sporadically in "Views." I guess I've seen the most from Drake. I just want a cinematic album. I feel like the moral that Drake way trying to portray in this album is that he finally realizes who and what matters in his life, and he's done settling and giving his energy to those who don’t deserve it. If Drake can wow me like a "2014 forest hills drive" (J.Cole) or "the incredible true story" (logic). I want a common theme; even some skits would be nice. We live in the new golden era for music for us consumers. We get music so much faster now that streaming is the preferred method to get music. Now Drake, please direct your album so we can get a better inside perspective on why you are in the top 5. Top songs : Hype and Still Here, both give us confident Drake. These songs are a start but where he is at we should get an entire album of this quality of music.


Rating 7.5

Anthony Hamilton Album What I'm Feelin


As someone who loved Leon Bridges album last year ("coming home") apparently Leon is inspired by Anthony Hamilton. So if you enjoyed "Coming Home" please listen to this album. Leon is newer to this "Alternative Retro R&B genre" it's weird to say, but I love how the older sound is coming back into its lane. Anthony Hamilton presents this album in a way that makes you feel like you're in a jazz club in New Orleans or a coffee house, which you will love. "What I'm feeling" is one of the main reasons I credit this album to the jazz club experience. The breaks and ad-libs just sound like you are in New Orleans or any great live music venue, I love it! "Walk in my shoes" has a beat like an old school Mario track from the early 2000's, and Anthony Hamilton does what Anthony Hamilton does, I love the way he paints the picture you can see throughout the whole album. Please give it a listen. I love the way the electric guitar is so prominent in "Ain't No Shame" it just brings that picture of a dark jazzy club, which created a mood that lasted the whole album. Top Song: "What I'm Feelin" and "Walk in My Shoes" are probably the two most stand-outs on the album


Rating 8

Chance the Rapper Album Coloring Book


Can we all just sit back and realize this is probably the first positive album in hip-hop in... Probably ever! If you don't feel like you can concur the world after listening to this album, I don't know if we can be friends. It's a gospel heavy album, and even if you aren't religious, there are still songs just to make you feel great about yourself. Chance is a breath of fresh air, and I love it.

Top Songs:

"Juke Jam" and "Same Drugs", "Juke Jam" will bring you back to high school, chasing after seniors you shouldn't be messing with, getting yourself in trouble. And "Same Drugs" are about a relationship ending and knowing things won't work out, but remembering the good times you had. The track has a musical element to it. I could see Chance on stage singing "Don't you call her up."


Rating 8

Corrine Bailey Rae Album

The Heart Speaks in Whispers


Corrine is light in the dark music industry. I love this album! Wow! This album is real R&B; you can hear her passion on every track. Her band kills it too! I'd compare her to an Erykah Badu. ". The production and just overall feel of "Hey, I won't break your heart" is just amazing, I think we've all been in a situation of hesitation when it comes to dating, and this just hits a note in the best way... And the breakdown is just legendary. "Green aphrodisiac" just gives you that Badu feels, this is definitely a late night, alone, album. But you will not be disappointed. I love the packaging and gift; she paints with this project. Please do yourself a favor and listen to this album!

Top Songs:"Hey, I Won't Break Your Heart" and "Green Aphrodisiac”


Rating

CPryde Album: I Don’t Belong Here


Pryde, a young internet artist from Canada, struggles with identity on his new album "I don't belong here" with songs like "Roses" he explains his pain dealing with his mother dying. Then translations to a song like "Nuff said" a great song that shows his growth from Internet freestyles to making a name for himself. He explicitly said he didn't want club anthems or trap music on this album. Although I love some of his freestyles, he has online. This album is pure feeling and emotion, and it shows! We look forward to him growing and competing to top radio honors. Top songs:"Nuff said" and "Aggressive" can get you moving and get you pumped.


Rating 5.5

Ki & Ka Song: High Heels The Nache


This music video is awesome. Ki & Ka have cool dance moves, an awesome set that looks like a lot of American music videos. If I were to compare the male vocal to any American artist, I'd have to say he sounds like a Jason Derulo or the dream type. The only thing I didn't like was the production. It's like they didn't even mix the background tracks. The horns were way too tingly, and the drums were too drowned out by the other instruments.


Rating 7

La Septima Banda Album A Todo Volumen


Although, I couldn't understand the album. Sonically it's well produced. I figured I would let my good friend and fellow TNE Reporter Latin Life with William take this album to give the readers a more in-depth review. The members of La Séptima Banda formed in 1994 in Sinaloa, Mexico. The bouncy, catchy romance “Me Empezó A Valer” has already become a radio hit with no surprise. It’s definitely music with a message and love all in one. It delivers a romantic note with a dancing rhythm, unlike others. It has love stories we can relate to and gives a moment to reminisce.in past loves and present ones.

Top songs: Empezó A Valer. I wish I could understand the lyrics, man if it's not catchy!


Rating 4.8

Ariana Grande Album Dangerous Woman


This album is running off of the producing, the beats are stunning, but then lack when you get into songs like "touch it", that just sounds like a bad techno-pop song. “Be Alright” is just an amazing beat and gets you out of your chair and sounds great. “Dangerous Woman” is, of course, the single based on the name but she beaches! She shows her range, and that's what I'm excited about for the future. A solid nod to "Let Me Love You" I love the chorus, but it sounds too much like an FKA twigs song for me to put it at the top. I do have a problem with the direction of the album. It seems they wanted such a drastic change with her "brand" they forgot to make good music, but this is a transitional album. Ariana has incredible potential. She can be great, like Mariah Carey, or Whitney Houston. I have no doubt next time she can have two singles (at least) next time she puts out a project to hit top ten on the charts. I just don't see this album remembered for years.

Top Song:

Be Alright, Dangerous Woman, and Let Me Love You.


Rating 7.5

Issues Band Album Headspace


Can we just admire how crazy the drums are on this album! Wow. The mesh of distortion from a mean lead guitar and heavy drums allows you to understand how people will pay money to get in a circle and knock each other out. Lyrics are amazing; you can understand the pain he went through, unlike Dangerous Woman" by Ariana Grande where I think quite literally she says I just broke up with my ex, leaving no integrity for the listener to have the ability to formulate an understanding without literally spelling it out first. This album the opposite; you jump into a distinctly ancient time into the "Headspace" of the writer, and you can feel his pain.

Top Songs:

"The Realest" and "Coma" the most highlighted tracks, they have an excellent mix of gritty passion and a somewhat nice flow on the chorus. I like to describe it as even if we are hard on the outside doesn't mean we can't have a beautiful side to us as well.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page