top of page

The Gentleman's Morning Game Plan



Today I want to address all the gentlemen (ladies don’t worry you can pull some helpful hints from this too, but mainly this is for my fellas). Well, guys I know how overwhelming it can be to juggle being the man of the house, working, and, trying to find time to relax. I can totally relate. I am a high school instructor, Professional Bodybuilder, Motivational Speaker, Small Business Owner, Radio Show Personality, Personal Trainer, Lover of Quotes, and most importantly a Father. What helps me to successfully accomplish all these tasks is by waking with a single focus, "To be the best me that I can be." The battle for success starts in the mind, and the mind starts working in the morning. Each morning represents a renewing of the mind as well as the body. This article will focus on using prayer/mediation, words of affirmation, morning workouts, and visualizations to truly prepare you to "Be the best you that you can be."

In the Beginning...

We all know there is nothing worse than waking up from a peaceful night's rest to morning chaos. Guys, you know how this goes: everything has gone from 0 to 100 in the blink of your sleep crusted eyes and you're completely confused as to how it started.

What I've learned from these situations is the benefit of utilizing prayer or mediation before reacting, and not just to morning chaos but, to everyday situations. I honestly believe that life is 10% of what happens to you and 90% of how you react to it. It's something I tell not only my children, but the children I teach as well. Taking a moment when you first wake to meditate or pray gives you an opportunity to clear your mind, speak appreciation for your life, and ask for peace and clarity throughout your day. Even in the middle of a chaotic morning, I still find a quiet moment to myself to meditate usually for about 5-10 minutes depending on what type of day I know I'm facing. Morning prayer or meditation helps you to start your day with a brighter outlook, a clearer head, and a calmer demeanor (until you get in morning hour traffic).

Say It Right....

"The man that says he can and the man that says he can’t, are both right", is a personal quote of mine, it's actually one of my favorites. What I mean by this is that, the majority of us have been taught at an early age that words have power and that you can speak prosperity as well as failure into your life. Every morning when I wake up I say: "Today's going to be a great day, it doesn't matter what happened yesterday or the day before that, today is new and its mine for the taking!" Corny? A little cheesy? Maybe, but if you can think of a better phrase, let me know.

In the meantime, these words get me pumped and excited to get my day started. It honestly feels like each morning I'm giving myself a pat on the back and an extra boost of confidence to start my day. Every person should surround themselves with positive words. Why? Because by surrounding yourself with positive words or phrases, you create an empowering environment in yourself and within your home, your castle. Waking up and not only reading but, speaking aloud positive words that apply to you and your daily life should be a staple in your morning ritual. Reading these words and phrases aloud repeatedly fills your mind, body, and spirit with a renewed uplifted energy. In fact, I challenge each of you to start your mornings with a positive quote either about yourself or the day ahead of you and tell me by day 5 if you haven't noticed a difference.

Let's Get Physical....

Here's something most people don't know about the brain, it releases endorphins and hormones in very high amounts in the morning. This means you don't need the cup of coffee when you first wake up, I'm kidding. This boosts also includes a man's testosterone levels. Most men's testosterone levels are average but, for those whose levels aren't they can suffer from mood swings, depression, and higher levels of stress.

Morning Workouts are one of the best methods to counter act low Test levels, in addition to helping you get your morning off to a healthy start. Reason being, your levels are elevated in the morning and working out helps to keep your levels high. In fact, workouts help the body release endorphins usually only released during sex, and let's face it guys, we all know how we feel during sex. I typically wake up at 5am just to get in a good morning workout, not just for fitness reasons, but emotional as well. I often feel less stressed about the day ahead of me after a good workout. I often encourage my clients to alter their morning routines and get in a good 30-minute workout, especially before going to work or school. If you're laying in bed early one morning and find yourself stressed over the upcoming day, get up, and get physical, even if its stretching, push-ups, crunches, etc, trust me you'll immediately feel less stressed. Now, go have that cup of coffee!!

Can you See It?

As the famous quote goes: "If you can imagine it, you can achieve it. If you can dream it, you can become it." Success like all things good or bad start with your thoughts. For instance, I start every day by laying my clothes for the day out on the bed. I visualize my day ahead, with these clothes on, including the obstacles of the day, my interactions with co-workers, and their reactions to me. Yes, I have changed clothes before putting them on due, to my visualizations.

The act of laying out my clothes and envisioning my day, has become such a part of my routine that if for some reason I don't do it, I feel like my day is off, until I meditate. I implore each of you to do the same, not necessarily the clothes but, to visualize your success. How will you achieve your goal? How will it feel when you achieve it? Picture the obstacles that you will face and how will you overcome them. Do the same thing for your days each morning. What goals do you hope to achieve today? As you do this maintain your peace and positivity, if needed go to a quiet room free of distractions, anything to reach your goal of positive visualization.

Remember, "A negative mind, will never have a positive life." The longest journey starts with the first step and that step starts when you open your eyes to start your day. By utilizing any of the following tips given in this article, you guarantee, that your first step is a great one. This goal of this article is to serve as plan for your success, a plan for you to start day on more than just "the right foot". Even if you don't use all of these tips, just one everyday can help more than just your mornings, attitude, physical appearance, thoughts, but, your complete being.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page