top of page

Hipster Holiday



I was racking my brain for ideas for November and bam! It hit me! Why don't I up-cycle a boring dinnerware set into a fantastic table setting! Of course, you guys know that I start with my color scheme and go from there. I wanted to stay in line with fall, so I chose a variation of jewel tones instead of the regular, standard fall colors. I went with a muted color scheme (so as not to scare viewers with the bright colors! It's the New Orleans in me). Initially, I was going to stencil the plates and water cup; but, the colors looked so beautiful on their own that I left them as they were. I didn't even need the stencil! My table setting is only for decoration and will not be used for eating. Painted dishes can be used for dining but will need to be “cured” for a certain amount of time in the oven. Different paints call for different “curing” times. Make sure to follow all directions associated with paints and stencils. Also, paint drying time and paint curing time are two different things. Drying time refers to a product being dry to the touch whereas curing refers to a product reaching its maximum durability (which is DEFINITELY a longer time than dry time). WARNING!!!! IF YOU PLAN ON USING YOUR TABLE SETTING FOR EATING, MAKE SURE TO BUY A PAINT THAT CAN BE USED TO PAINT DISHES AND MAKE SURE THAT DISHES ARE CURED IN THE OVEN TO ENSURE MICROWAVE AND DISHWASHER USE. See you guys next time on the next episode of Jazzin' It Up with Jaz!!!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page